Aged Care Services Offering New Opportunities In Australia

Estimated read time 3 min read

Looking for a job opportunity in Australia is opening the doors for age care service professionals. With the growing population of aged people, more and more age care services are looking for a professional. But, not anyone can simply offer an age care service without holding any certificate.

It is time for you to enroll in aged care courses to obtain the 3 certification levels: Certificate II, Certificate III, and certificate IV. Among the three qualification levels, each certificate has different specialties. There are two blended certificates to complete, and you can get two certificates upon finishing the course.

What are these aged care courses?

Here are the following courses to take and finish to obtain certificates:

  • Certificate III in Individual Support.
  • Dual Certificate in Individual Support and Certificate IV in Aging Support.
  • Certificate IV in Aging Support

These certificates can be obtained once you finish the courses that let you qualify for applying for the job. In Australia, an aged care service professional is a qualification to get hired on the job. If you don’t hold any of these certificates, you can’t get that job. Hiring the job is getting strict since you are providing the right and proper care.

Aged Care Services

Care services for the elderly in Australia

An aged care system caters for aged 65 and over for Australians. Indigenous Australians aged 50 and above are provided support by the government. An elderly without support from their family or home can get aged care support from the local government, where they stay in one place.

Care is provided in the home of the people, in the community, and the residential aged care facilities by a wide array of providers. The Australian Government is the main funder and regulator of the system. Aged care in Australia are:

  • Describes the types of care
  • Arrangements for accessing subsidized care
  • Statistics on aged care
  • Organizations provide care
  • Regulatory arrangements to ensure quality care

Types of care

 There are three types of aged care services available for the elderly:

  1. Care at home. The CHSP provides entry-level home assistance for older people and planned respite activities for relieving carers.
  2. Residential care. It is provided in aged care homes on a respite or permanent basis. It is provided for all people needing more care than provided from their homes. It includes
    1. Personal care
    2. Accommodation
    3. Support services (laundry and meals)
    4. Nursing
    5. Allied health services
  3. Flexible care. It caters to older people that need a different care approach than offered by home and residential care services. Here are the four types of flexible care:
  4. Transition care
  5. Short-term restorative care
  6. Multipurpose services programme
  7. Innovative care program

These are aged care services provided by the Australian Government, wherein anyone who wants to apply should take those certificates to get the job.